Steam trains still run on the GCR Line © TAB
The Loughborough bell foundry (founded by John Taylor in 1858) has produced bells that have rung round the world. The foundry, which still operates today, has cast many famous bells including 'Great Paul' for London's St Paul's Cathedral. The town's parish church (All Saints) has a peal of ten bells from the foundry and contains a memorial to the bell founding Taylor family. The foundry has a small museum that provides guided tours of the casting works.
The town's striking Italianate town hall, located in the Market Place, was built in 1855 and now contains the town's Tourist Information Centre.
The only double track privately run heritage railway in the UK, where full size steam trains can been seen to pass each other. Steam and heritage diesel trains run daily in the summer months (and weekends during winter) over the eight miles of track. Which runs from Loughborough Central Station to Leicester North, calling at Quorn and Rothley. The Central Station also contains a locomotive depot and museum.
Opening times: Station open daily, trains run daily Jun~Aug & school hols; Sep~May, Sat, Sun & BHs Admission Charge
Location: Great Central Rd, Loughborough, LE11 1RW - Tel: 01509 632323 - Website
Facilities: café, shop, buffet service on trains.
The 150 ft tower, located in Queen's Park (near the town centre), was built in 1923 as a memorial for the men of the town who died in the First World War. Regular recitals are given (Thur & Sun) on its carillon of 47 bells. The tower contains a small museum.
Opening times: Good Friday to the 30th September, daily 1pm - 16:30pm Free Entry/Charge
Location: Queens Park, Loughborough, LE11 3DU - Tel: 01509 263370 - Website
Explains the history of bell making and contains a large collection of bells from various eras. Visitors can sound some the bells and guided tours of the foundry are available.
Opening times: opening times vary, please visit website and phone to confirm. Admission Charge
Location: Freehold St, Loughborough, Leic. LE11 1AR - Tel: 01509 212241 - Website
The Old Rectory is a 13th~14th century stone built manor house with a gabled front, once home to the Rectors of All Saints Parish Church, and one of the oldest remaining rectories in Britain. In the 60s some later additions were demolished and the 13th-c original core was opened as a museum.
Opening times: Apr~Oct: Saturday's only, 11am - 3pm Free Entry
Location: Rectory Place, Loughborough LE11 1UW - Website